Repeat

Like I do many days, I call my mom on my way home from work.

We go through the standard greetings.  She tells me about her latest medical appointments.  She gives me a summary of her plans for the week.  She goes over the same information about my dad.  And, even though it’s only Tuesday, she asks me about my plans for the coming weekend.

I tell  her that my 14 year old has two more shows of Into the Woods to perform in, so my husband I will be going to see the show both nights and going out with friends after the show on Saturday.  I tell her that my 12 year old has an interview on Saturday, because she wants to do crew work for a theater group this summer.   My mother asks if Claire’s show is over after this weekend, and I tell her that, yes, these are the last two shows.  My mom comments that Claire is going to miss being in the show when it’s over, and I agree with her that she probably will.  She always does.

And then my mom asks, “So, what are you all doing the weekend?”

I watch the car ahead of me turn across the oncoming lane. I tap my fingers on the steering wheel.  I take a deep breath, and then I say:   “Remember, mom, I just told you.  Claire’s in a play.  Paige has a crew interview.”

“Oh, yes.. of course,” she says.  “I remember.”

Once, every day for a week she told me about how my Aunt Grace’s microwave was being installed above her stove, at her children’s insistence, even though my Aunt Grace couldn’t reach it there.  Some days when she started the story, I told her I’d already heard it. Most days I just listened and responded to the story again, like I’d already done, like I knew I’d do again.

9 comments

  1. cflathers · March 2, 2016

    tough times indeed, but you will be happy that you spent the time talking to your mom.

    Like

  2. Pat · March 2, 2016

    Such a challenge. My son usually calls me on his way home from work, too. I know it’s not the same but I worry about myself. I catch myself telling him something I’ve already told him and attribute it to “I need to pay more attention”.

    Like

  3. Adrienne · March 2, 2016

    My mom is almost 85 and repeats stories and forgets what I’ve told her, just like yours. It is hard and sometimes frustrating. I live far away so I only call on the weekend and feel a little guilty about that.

    Like

  4. Dana Murphy · March 2, 2016

    This is very tender and raw Slice. I sense a little bit of frustration and a lot of patience on your end. Watching our parents age is difficult and, at times, I find myself missing the person my mom used to be.

    Thanks for sharing this with us.

    Like

  5. djvichos · March 2, 2016

    Thanks for your honesty. It’s refreshing to read your post. It feels like life. It feels real. I’m familiar with those deep breaths. I’m glad I’m not alone.

    Like

  6. newtreemom · March 2, 2016

    This is life. These will be some of the moments you will cherish. Because of the love.

    Like

  7. Kristy L · March 2, 2016

    It’s so hard watching our parents grow older. Love the way you told this!

    Like

  8. elsie · March 3, 2016

    I remember my mom aggravated because her mom would tell her the same story over and over. Now my mom is doing the same thing, but I try to be patient and let her tell me. I know one day I will miss it. Sounds like a lot of us are living in this period of life.

    Like

  9. Darin Johnston · March 3, 2016

    Thank you, for sharing what many of us are going through right now. In the last few years, I’ve seen that slow decent begin, and it’s hard to watch. The emotions that we are feeling are evident here in your slice, yet, so is the celebration that is the continued communication between a mom and her daughter. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

