When teachers learn

I cannot get the apostrophe or quotation mark keys to work, so bear with me on this post.

Today was a teacher inservice day.   Teacher inservice day means lots of fun stuff.  First, I get to arrive at my school right at 8, rather than at least 45 minutes early to get ready for the kids.  Second, I get to go to the bathroom whenever I want.   And, finally, I get to eat lunch sitting down with friends, rather than standing at the copier or supervising kids.

Oh, and I get to learn some good teacher stuff, too.

Like they do at many of our meetings, my administrators started the morning with a teaching strategy that we can learn and then take into our own classrooms.  Today we began with a grouping method that put us in random groups.  And, though it was random, I wound up in a group with one of my friends.  I will call her Kathy to protect her identity.  And because she is easily embarrassed.

Once settled in our groups, we were each supposed to come up with a list of questions to ask our shoulder partner about his or her teen years.  Well, that sounded easy.  I enthusiastically drafted a list of questions that seemed appropriate based on the young adult novels that I have spent the past several years reading.  After two or three minutes of question writing, we were instructed to turn to our shoulder partners (the person sitting next to us) and interview him or her.

I began by asking Kathy the first question on my list.  It was a really great question, one that demonstrated my knowledge of all things teenage… knowledge I garnered mostly from John Green novels.

What?!!  I am not answering that!  Her voice was so loud that several people turned to look at us.   They must have been  jealous of all the fun we were having.

Undaunted, I moved on to my next question.

Again, Kathy seemed reticent to answer.  Um…no, she said.  But I was not sure if that was her answer or her refusal to answer the question.

I was ready to ask my next question, but Kathy was shaking her head and leaning so far back in her chair that I was afraid she was going to fall out of it.  Out of the corner of my eye, I saw my principal starting to come toward our table.  Kathy looked up at him, and he announced that it was time to stop asking questions and switch partners.  That was weird.  I had hardly had time to ask any of my questions.

Kathy lifted her list of questions off the table and looked it over.  She shook her head and put the list back down.

I cant even do this,  she said.

Poor Kathy!  I  guess she just did not understand the activity.

 

 

2 comments

  1. Kathleen Neagle Sokolowski · March 5, 2016

    This was funny! I like how you are introduced to new strategies at your workshop! Now I really want to see your questions!

    Like

  2. Adrienne · March 5, 2016

    My team always eats lunch together, so we always go out to eat on inservice days…and take more than 30 minutes for lunch. It is certainly true that inservice activities that might be fun for one person, might not be for others. I’m curious to know what your questions were.

    Like

Leave a Reply

