Sunday Night

Anyone who has ever taught, or anyone who has been close to a teacher,  knows that the weekend is really no break from work.  Hours spent grading papers and planning for the next week often take up most of the weekend.  Even on a light work weekend,  Sunday nights are always dedicated to work.  Always.

Tonight as I drove home from Target, my mind raced through the list of things I needed to accomplish before I could go to sleep.  The ungraded essays and unmade plans loomed ahead of me.  But I knew that, like every other Sunday night,  I would rise to the occasion and get the work done.  And then I would be ready to start another week.

But, first, I needed to begin.

5 comments

  1. pittswitts · March 7, 2016

    Cheers to you! You are among a legion of those at kitchen tables and coffee shops trying to make it to Monday!

    Like

  2. theteachingbee · March 7, 2016

    Amen. Sunday nights are ALWAYS so stressful and anxiety-filled. Just know, you are not alone. 🙂

    Like

  3. Adrienne · March 7, 2016

    I save Sunday nights for me. Work has to be done before dinner so I can relax and savor the last few hours of freedom.

    Like

  4. macksworldsite · March 7, 2016

    I wish I had the self discipline to do this. It would save me a lot of stressful evenings!

    Like

  5. Dana Murphy · March 7, 2016

    Ooooh, that ending was so great. Ain’t that the truth? Getting started is the hardest part.

    Like

Leave a Reply

