Remembering the sun

My daughter’s friend Abby is going through a rough patch.  Actually, rough patch is an understatement.  A major understatement.  Because it’s not just rough.  It’s very dark and excruciatingly painful.  And it’s not just a patch, either.  It’s been a long time–over a year.   An immeasurably long time in the life of a teenager.

It is painful to watch her fight this battle.  And it is painful to see my own daughter’s pain as she tries to understand, as she tries to help her friend, as she worries that this dark journey will never end.

Yesterday, my younger daughter showed me a video that the older one had texted her.  It was a video of a group of neighborhood girls that had been taken almost three years ago, when a sudden summer storm had uprooted a tree and dropped it in the middle of  our street.  The five girls in the video danced around the tree, jumping on limbs, laughing, and shouting in excitement.

“Oh, look at you!” I said, remembering nine year old Paige and eleven year old Claire.  “Look at how much you’ve grown!”

“And Hayley!  And Sarah!  Look at them!”   I laughed as I remembered them all, these little girls who had grown so much but who still, at times, could show this same enthusiasm.  “You guys were so silly!  So cute!”

But, next to Claire, there was this other girl.  And she was laughing and singing and dancing with the others.  But I did not recognize her.  I did not know her.

“Who is that?” I asked, leaning closer into the small screen.

Paige leaned over too, and when she answered me her voice was soft with disbelief.  “Mom,” she said.  “That’s Abby.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 comments

  1. Beth Cook · March 10, 2016

    My heart hearts for your daughter and her friend. Those teenage years are so hard! Hopefully the dark clouds will pass soon and you will find the girl who smiled and played in the rain!!

    Like

  2. Alice Nine · March 10, 2016

    There is so much pain. It’s a hard thing to write about, a hard thing to read about, and a harder thing to comment on. I pray all our “Abby’s” have a “Paige” to give strength, to help them break through, to overcome.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. maribethbatcho · March 10, 2016

    Yup. Tough one indeed. Seems a lot of took the tough road today. Thanks for taking the risk and allowing me a peek inside.

    Like

  4. Adrienne · March 10, 2016

    This is heart-breaking. Being a teen can be hard, even in good circumstances. I hope Abby knows she has people like you & Claire in her corner, even if she has to do the work alone.

    Like

  5. Tara Smith · March 11, 2016

    I can see why this hurt to write…your daughter has a big heart, and Abby needs it.

    Like

  6. djvichos · March 11, 2016

    What a beautifully written reflection of the difficult present and the joy captured in the past. Striking contrast. It’s heartbreaking that this joy also feels in the other sense of the word “captured” in the past. I hope joy finds Abby again.

    Like

  7. neylonk · March 11, 2016

    Oh Abby, I feel so badly for her. And for your daughter. She is being a good friend, the best, and it still pains us.
    My heart broke with the last line and your title, so apt. I just love your writing!

    Like

  8. andresenb · March 11, 2016

    Wow. Just. Wow. Amazing story Lynne!

    Like

  9. Dana Murphy · March 11, 2016

    Oh my, this is chilling and heart wrenching. Brought tears to my eyes.

    I love what you did here as a writer, but my heart hurts so badly at this story. I hope Abby finds the sun again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

