Growing Up

There are times I look at my daughters and realize just how grown up they’re getting.  And then there are times when I realize just how much they’re actually not grown up at all.

Like today, for instance.

I’m not sure why my 14 year old decided to practice her self-defense moves on her sister in the middle of the ice cream aisle at the grocery store.  Part  of me thinks the older one was not so subtlety protesting the fact that I hadn’t taken her highness home before subjecting her to a shopping trip for her sister’s birthday party.

Whatever the reasoning behind it, I will long be haunted by the fact that when a came around the corner, I realized it was my kids causing all that annoying racket

Suffice it to say, I’m going to let some time pass , and some more growing up happen, before I take them both shopping again.

Which was probably their plan all along, now that I think about it.

image

3 comments

  1. neylonk · March 12, 2016

    Yep, that’s how they do it! Love today’s slice!

    Like

  2. Adrienne · March 12, 2016

    This made me laugh and brought back fond memories of goofing around with my sister and getting in a little trouble with my mom.

    Like

  3. Stacey Shubitz · March 14, 2016

    Dontcha just love it when you realize it’s your own kid making the racket?!?! (Happens to me more often than I’d care to admit.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

