Stopping by Chipotle on a Sunny Afternoon

The woman behind the counter assures me that my order will be ready shortly, but just for this moment I am in no hurry to leave.  Instead, I am noticing the quiet perfection  in the way the soft light from a sunbeam has drawn grey shadows on the restaurant’s well-worn wooden floor.  I am admiring the brilliant shine of the light reflected off the slender bar of silver chrome on a table’s edge.  I am basking in the warmth of this sunny afternoon.

There is an odd peace in this moment, and I wish that I could just stay and take the time to savor this rare tranquility.  But the woman behind the counter has been true to her word, and my order is suddenly ready.  I’ve got to get this fast dinner home to my family. Because there’s dance lessons and voice lessons and homework and lesson planning and paper grading and showers and maybe even laundry to do.

Yes, I’ve got promises to keep.  And, though my actual travel distance is very short, I have miles to go before I sleep.

 

 

6 comments

  1. maribethbatcho · March 17, 2016

    Lovely in the moment experience at the restaurant. The description is very nice, and I also enjoyed the way you ended the piece…only a short distance but many miles to go. Thanks for the read.

    Like

  2. Adrienne · March 17, 2016

    It is sunny here, too, after days of heavy rain. Like many others, I left work a few minutes early hoping to get home. I didn’t mind the minor delays on the highway because the warmth of the sun through the windshield was so delightful.

    Like

  3. JulieK · March 17, 2016

    Creative interpretation of classic poem

    Like

  4. Wendy · March 17, 2016

    I really enjoyed how your piece resonated with the poem without actually copying it. A variation, not a parody. Very nice!

    Like

  5. andresenb · March 17, 2016

    Ok. We both wrote about savoring. I SWEAR I didn’t plagiarize 🙂

    Like

  6. Dana Murphy · March 17, 2016

    A perfect SLICE – stopping to notice a moment in the day that might otherwise have gone unnoticed.

    Your ending line was perfection – really. So great.

    I had a similar experience yesterday that is my Slice for tomorrow. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

