Driving past a funeral home

I passed by the local mortuary today.  The parking lot was full. I line of darkly clad figures snaked out of the door and extended down the sidewalk.  I’ve been to this funeral home and stood in a line this long once before.  I know how the line first curves around inside the building before it reaches the door.  Only a very long line makes it out the door.

I did not know the person who had passed away.  I did not know who he or she had left behind. But my heart felt heavy at the thought of those who mourned today.  I hoped they felt some comfort in the number of people who had come to grieve with them.  And, most of all, I hoped the person whose death had gathered so many people here had known this level of care when he or she was still alive.

6 comments

  1. Pat · March 21, 2016

    I hope so too. I hope care and love was shown during the life of the person who passed.

    Like

  2. thissideofthegreen · March 21, 2016

    I agree. I hope they knew how well they were loved too.

    Like

  3. bevbaird · March 21, 2016

    I always say a prayer when I pass a funeral home with cars.

    Like

  4. MaryHill · March 21, 2016

    I always hope they found God and are in heaven with Him. I pray for the family too that they find peace in this time of mourning.

    Like

  5. Rachel6325 · March 21, 2016

    I love the description of the line…”darkly clad figures snaked out the door.” this slice reminds me of how I think of the people in need when an ambulance screams past. Thank you for sharing your sweet thoughts.

    Like

  6. Dana Murphy · March 21, 2016

    This is beautiful. I love how you stopped to notice it and then share it with us.

    I always think funerals are so beautiful in their dark colors and solemnity. (is that a word?)

    Like

Leave a Reply

