Snow Day! (somewhere else…)

It came across my Facebook feed early this morning. My alma mater, Colorado State University, is having a snow day today.  Today…near the end of March….after the official start of spring.  According to one friend’s Facebook memory, the school also had a snow day exactly three years ago today.  (Once again, the end of the March…after the official start of spring.)  Yesterday, it was 72 degrees in Denver. The sun was shining.  The grass was growing. Kids were riding bikes.  Today, the airport  has cancelled all its flights, the schools are closed, and kids are building snowmen.  I’m “liking” pictures of friends who are shoveling snow and counting the inches (16 inches so far according to one post.)

I miss this wild unpredictability.  Sort of.  But when people talk about the craziness of Chicago weather, I want to laugh.  Because, frankly, Chicago weather (and all it’s miserableness) is actually much more predictable than Denver in the spring.

4 comments

  1. Wilcox Carol · March 23, 2016

    I live in Denver. We have had a foot of snow and it’s still coming down. Yikes!

    Like

  2. Amy Rudd · March 23, 2016

    Wow, a snow day today? Who’d of thought…I know there have been Aprils where we’ve had snow-OIO-Only in Ohio! I didn’t realize Denver was so unpredictable.

    Like

  3. onathought · March 23, 2016

    I remember a snow day in April here in Pennsylvania. It’s so weird when the weather doesn’t cooperate with my plans for spring! 🙂

    Like

  4. Kelly Neylon · March 24, 2016

    So funny! I love how you just laugh as we complain about Chicago weather!

    Like

Leave a Reply

